Featured Savings Rates
Featured Accounts

Woodforest National Bank Reviews


Average Rating:
Based on 21 reviews


Worst Ever

This bank is the absolute most fraudulent bank EVER. Damn app requires a star to get out of this application but I would reject every single star to the negatives on all notes.

Woodforest

The financial institution I'm about to tell you about is a local one in southern Texas outside of Austin called Woodforest Bank that has their branch locations inside of local Wal-Mart supercenters. It was a while ago that I had a checking account with them. I won't name specific people. Getting a checking account initially was difficult because they said I had bad credit, but when I initially applied with them I had virtually NO credit history so I was very shocked and skeptical. I had to call some central number to find out why and then subsequently get approved. At this time in my life I didn't have direct deposit so I'd always go to the local branch in Cedar Park to deposit my pay check. At least a couple of the employees were people I'd gone to high school with. This gave me some comfort and familiarity but I didn't like that they always were gossiping as if they'd never grown up. Looking back I feel as if the bank could have hired more competent and mature employees. Eventually I left that bank and switched to Wachovia which then got bought out by Wells Fargo.

Woodforest Bank

Posted by: michellch | Jan 6, 2017

We love Woodforest Bank! We have both our savings and checking accounts there thanks to their "second chance" accounts that cater to those of us who have had problems in the past with bank accounts. They are super friendly and accommodating. Located in Walmart store, they are open 7 days a week but just using their website I can complete most transactions. Their fees are fair and clearly marked so there are no surprises! We look forward to being a customer for a long long time!

Platinum Account Woes

Posted by: dla1946 | May 27, 2016

Several years ago, I opened a Platinum Plus account. Under the terms of this account, you are to receive access to funds immediately. The hang-up is that the tellers at the branches have a limited authority to accept the check for deposit-typically $1000 and at the Wal-Mart branches, a manager is often not on duty. After several episodes of waiting several minutes for the teller to make call after call trying to reach a supervisor, we are moving on. The final straw was when the teller balked at us depositing an Allstate claim check and we were both present with IDs. After standing there 10 minutes, we ripped up the deposit slip and took it to another bank. We weren't even trying to get any cash off it, just deposit!

Woodforest Kinda OK So Far

Posted by: ChrissyL | Feb 28, 2016

I just opened a 2nd chance checking acct. with Woodforest less than 2 months ago. So far, they've been fair and even credited one NSF fee for refusing to accept a deposit that would have avoided that charge. However, they recently suspended my debit card OD protection privileges for one $10.49 negative balance caused SOLELY by recurring monthly svc. fee!

I wrote an email via their on-site message portal to complain. About 2 days later, reply came back with same crap as first auto-notification that I must wait 60 days with no more OD balances and take a GPS banking course at a local branch. This is very unfair, as sole cause of ONE overdraft was due to BANK-imposed mandatory recurring service charges. Very unreasonable, but I defer overall judgment at this early stage in the game.

Made Me Feel Like A Criminal

Posted by: FelishaC | Jun 16, 2015

I am an ex military wife, my ex husband was in the Marine Corps 1st then U.S Army retired after 24 yrs in, he was deployed to Iraq after 9/11 he stayed there for 5 years then came home for 2 weeks then retired in them 2 weeks and went back over as a contractor working with Special Forces. He has now been there 10 years. All the time he has been there he has sent me money for me to take care of the household bills and to take care of the 3 kids, we divorced in 2004 and he still sent me money til yesterday 06/15/2015 and he would send by way of wiring from his bank account with USAA & Capital One, into my Woodforest account for the last 3 yrs since I moved to Louisiana, I had been with other banks before and NEVER had any problems, today I tried to use my debit card an couldn't so I went to the bank to find out what was wrong, they told me my account was closed for suspicious activity on my account and due to the extensive monitoring required for the activity on your account we regret to inform you your account will be closed. I called and spoke with the corporate office and they said they are not obliged to tell me what was suspicious activity was on my account, We have the same last name and the wires come in his name to my name and they can also see I pay all my bills with my debit card, so they are thinking I am a drug dealer or money laundering, so they closed my account, my 3 kids have accounts with them that now we are closing and I advise you to NEVER bank with them, My ex husband and best friend fights for this country and I can't even have him wire money to me from his bank account to pay bills and take care of the kids as long as I was with Wood Forest National Bank, because to them I am obviously a criminal and not a mother & ex military wife of 24 years!!!

Thanks for giving me a chance WoodForest

Posted by: Linda1 | Jun 14, 2015

I am so happy I discovered Woodforest. In the past I have not been very responsible with my bank account. I thought I would never be able to have an account again. Wood forest has a second chance checking account. I was thrilled when I found out I qualified for an account. At the time I even got a bonus for opening the account. The minimum deposit was $25 but the gave me an additional matching deposit. I don't have a fee if my check is direct deposited and that is a plus. Although, I have had a few complications with timing of deposits etc. I really enjoy this banking institution. If you keep a $1,000 balance you will have a 05% interest. That's better than nothing. Thanks Woodforest!

Great customer service, average business.

Posted by: Tammarra | Dec 10, 2014

I started working with Wood Forest Bank 3 weeks ago. The lady that helped me open the account explained everything thoroughly, and when I had a question she couldn't answer, she called someone higher up in the bank to get an answer for me. I've have been back to the bank several times and she is always there and greets me with a smile and asks how I am doing.

Unfortunately the credit card that I ordered through them 3 weeks ago has yet to arrive, despite the fact that I was told it would come within 10 business days. I've asked the bank and they said they can't track it, so they have no idea where my card is. This is very frustrating, because I have to go to the bank to make a withdrawal every time I go shopping.

However I'm willing to look past it, because the other features are decent. Not the greatest bank out there, but definitely better than some.

Handles Customers Quickly

Posted by: Claire76OH | Dec 2, 2014

I originally joined Woodforest simply because it was located in Walmart, where I occasionally do grocery shopping, and I was new to town. Woodforest doesn't seem remarkable in any way except that the tellers and staff are very efficient at their job and have never wasted my time. I have never stood in line more than one minute. When I had to bring in my change of name paperwork for marriage, the teller I was working with did not know how to handle my information. She quickly got someone on the phone who came out and sat me at a desk to process my work. The process took about two minutes. I compare this to a credit union I also belong to. The process there took over ten minutes. As my time is valuable and I hate standing in line, I choose Woodforest for most of my banking.

Woodforest Bank Review

Woodforest bank, being conveniently located inside my local Walmart, was one of the most convenient banks I have ever had the pleasure of working with. It offers extended ours, often open until after 7pm local time on specific nights of the week. This offers especially night shift workers increased flexibility, and allows you to wake later in the day and still be able to conduct banking activities. They offer daily email updates that reflect any new transactions, pending transactions that have now completed, as well as your available and ledger balances. This is quite convenient, as it makes it easy to keep track of your available funds, often preventing overdrafts for those with lower income levels. Fees tend to be the bank's one weak point, as their products often require you to keep a certain income level and / or a specific balance to avoid monthly service charges. At the time of my business with them, this totaled approximately $6 a month for basic checking and an associated savings accout. Other pay per service activities such as money orders and cashiers checks tend to be cheaper than other options. Their online services tend to be smooth with a clean, easy to use interface. The online mobile banking tends to have frequent downtimes, however. All my interactions with the bank tellers as well as customer service were quick, with friendly service. Overall, I would rate my experience very good. If they would lower several of their fees, I would be willing to up this to excellent, making them one of the more competitive banks that I have had the pleasure of working with.

Woodforest: A safe place

Posted by: jerio | Aug 11, 2014

This bank is a fairly good bank. The perrsonell, both online support, customer support, and physical locations are all very professional. They have treated me very kindly in my time with them. But they also have fees that some people may not be comfortable with. The main fee I am not too fond of is for people with direct sflimoexpress.net. Woodforest charges at least 6 dollars if one's balance ever goes below 100$ in a month. I am also not too fond of the automatic fraud system, in which certain purchases can be labeled as 'fraud' automatically, preventing you from using your bank card until the hold has been lifted. Woodforest generally serves poorer people and tends to be found in Walmarts as a physical location.

Very Very Poor Bank Is Woodforest

Posted by: biker | Apr 25, 2013

WoodForest Bank has absolutely no excuse for what WoodForest did to me. For some months there was a daily bank statement sent to e-mails online. Suddently, nothing at all. Nothing. Daily was way too much. Monthly, would be fine, but there was nothing suddently, and no explanation whatsoever. My bank account at WoodForest was entirely disolved. Entirely to nothing because of fees. It was called inactivity fees. There was and is absolutely no excuse for no contact. I know persnally of another who couldn't even get postal bank statements from WoodForest. So, WoodFrest is a place of robbery, and not any place of safe keeping. Never use WodForest Bank. Never. I did withdraw from Woodforest. I aked for a change in my e-mail address, and all was agreed to and fine. This was only a month before my account was entirely disolved. Nobody at the bank knew anything. Weird, huh?

Best Banking Experience I Have Ever Had.

Posted by: Sk8rX | Jan 8, 2013

The people are always friendly, knowledgable and helpful. It is actually a pleasure to go to the bank.

A few years ago, there was a time that a company overcharged me by not stopping an automatic charge when they should have. This put my account in the negative. The people at Woodforest forgave the overdraft, helped me to get things straight again, and made sure that company could not automatically charge my account again.

Great people. Great bank. I highly recommend them

WOODFOREST's VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

Posted by: RyanT | Jul 24, 2012

Simply not the kind of bank where employees are well trained to resolve issues. Requests for assistance requires numerous attempts lasting days to weeks. District managers don't return telephone calls. By far the most unresponsive of all banks I've ever experienced to date. Definitely NOT recommended - put your money somewhere else.

Woodforest Bank Is Not A Good Bank

Posted by: tealrmac | Oct 10, 2011

To make a long story short, The bank cashed a 2 party check for a large amount of money on which one of the boys had expired ID,and the teller did not verify the check,which turned out to be closed account and stolen,and no red flags went up that the bank it was drawn on was in the same parking lot.My grandson which in all the years with banking never had that amount in the bank,had him sign the back of the check and cashed it for the other boy.3 days later the check came out of his account which put his account in the red plus all the service fees and wanted him to pay back the money they cashed for the other boy.When I went to the bank the manager wouldnt even talk to me about it and said nothing can be done except my grandson deposit the money and have his account out of the red.When I went higher up it took two weeks for him to call me and said the same thing,We didnt get the money, dont have that kind of money so they took out of my account all the money I had in there and put me in the red so now all my checks will be sent back and have 2 accounts in the red.Plus left me penniless for groceries and gas.Im telling you all this because it can happen to you,warning do not bank with Woodforest bank

Avoid This Bank

Posted by: Anonymous | Jul 5, 2011

I opened individual and business accounts based upon 5 star rating at this site. It took 3 hours for clerk to open my first account, and she ended up putting the wrong name on my checks. I noticed service charges on my statements which turned out to be charges for every check I wrote which no one told me about when I opened these "free checking" accounts. It takes 10 minutes to make a deposit because clerks have to get permission to take money. Clerk put a 7 day hold on my cash deposit. Walmart branch clerks were nice, but obviously poorly trained, if at all - everything takes much longer than it should. Woodforest is too greedy, too bureaucratic, and too incompetent to be a real bank.

Great Institution

Posted by: Anonymous | May 17, 2010

Great institution. Excellent online banking, direct deposits post 24 hours prior to actual post date, clear terms, quality programs.